What is Norse Mythology?

Norse, Viking or Scandinavian mythology comprises the indigenous pre-Christian religion, beliefs and legends of the Scandinavian peoples, including those who settled on Iceland, where most of the written sources for Norse mythology were assembled. Norse mythology is the best-preserved version of the older common Germanic paganism, which also includes the closely related Anglo-Saxon mythology. Germanic mythology, in its turn, developed from an earlier Indo-European mythology.

The Gods



Various Norse gods gather around Odin

Norse mythology has numerous divine figures among it's accounts, with Odin, Thor and Loki been the most prominent, and also most used Norse gods in popular culture, such as comic books, television and film. Among the many Norse gods and goddesses there are:

Major deities

~ Symbols - Races and The Nine Worlds ~



The Triquetra

The triquetra is a knot-like formation with three ends, commonly shown interlaced around a circle. The symbol is also known as the symbol of charm, and is used in the depiction of several norse and scandaninavian items such as the Mjölnir.

The Triquetra was heavily used by Norse pagans, as they used articles like pendants resembling the Mjolnir with a Triquetra symbol crafted on it.


The Mjölnir is Thor's hammer. The symbol is used for protection.


The Valknut is a symbol of Odin.


The Nine Worlds


The Yggdrasil connecting the nine realms.

In Norse mythology, the nine worlds also known as nine realms, are planets or massive city-like places located throughout the cosmos, connected by the world three known as Yggdrasil. The interdimensional rainbow-like path known as Bifröst, bridges Asgard with other realms.

Other locations

Please reload

  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • TripAdvisor - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • YouTube - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • LinkedIn - Black Circle
  • Google Places - Black Circle
  • RSS - Black Circle